Oxford Instruments Nanoscience Announces 2022 Nicholas Curti Science Prize Winners

22 September 2022 — Oxford Instruments announces Professor Angelo Di BernardoAssociate Professor of Physics, University of Konstanz, and Dr. Alexander Grimm, Researchers from the Photon Science Division at the Paul Scherrer Institute have been named co-recipients of the 2022 Nicholas Curti Prize for Science.

Professor Angelo Di Bernardo (left) and Dr. Alexander Grimm.

The award recognizes Di Bernardo’s work in the spectroscopy of spin-polarized (spin triplet) states in superconductor/ferromagnet hybrids and novel couplings that exist at the surfaces and interfaces of strongly correlated electron materials. Recognition for the discovery of effects and quantum phases. low dimension.

Grimm was awarded for his work on nonlinear effects in Josephson junctions for quantum information processing.

  1. Experimental demonstration of antibunching statistics for photons emitted by inelastic Cooper-pair tunneling through a voltage-biased Josephson junction.
  2. Creation of novel autonomously stabilized qubits in two-photon-driven Kerr nonlinear superconducting resonators.

The purpose of the Nicolas Curti Prize for Science is to promote and reward new research by young scientists working in the fields of low temperature and/or high magnetic fields in Europe.

“Both Grimm and Di Bernardo’s work are incredibly inspiring, as evidenced by the jury’s inability to choose this year’s award.”Such innovative and groundbreaking research. It is wonderful to see that is produced in cryogenic physics.

Dr. Alexander Grimm said: Josephson focuses on his emerging research areas of photonics and bosonic quantum information processing. Both rely on the amazing versatility of Josephson junctions as generators of nonlinear processes at the quantum level. He is very happy to have contributed to these areas. At the same time, we would like to emphasize that our research is always a team effort. Therefore, we would like to thank our colleagues and collaborators for their contributions to our scientific output. ”

Professor Angelo Di Bernardo said: The award emphasizes the importance of characterizing new states and phases resulting from the coupling of superconductors with other materials for the development of low-loss superconducting electronics. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the award committee and all the wonderful researchers I have had the pleasure of working with. ”

About Professor Angelo Di Bernardo

Based on his significant work in the field of unconventional superconductors, Prof. DiBernardo transferred to the University of Konstanz in October 2019, where he started his own research group “Super spintronics using oxides and 2D materials”. , and is currently in charge of it. – Kovalevskaya Prize of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The advances made by Di Bernardo’s team in this area, such as unconventional methods such as low-energy muon spectroscopy, have great potential in investigating the spectroscopic properties of unconventional superconducting phases. The discovery suggests that Di Bernardo’s name will become more and more associated. with published literature in this developing field.

About Dr. Alexander Grimm

Grimm’s work on Josephson junctions streamlined and simplified the process of manipulating photons to transform complex microwave drives into interesting quantum-mechanical states of light. Grimm’s device can emit these states while only being addressed by a simple DC voltage, unlike previous methods that utilize complex, high-power microwave drives. These new discoveries enable new approaches for generating and manipulating quantum microwaves, with broad applications in experiments investigating quantum amplification and microwave lasing.

About the Nicholas Curti Science Prize

The 2022 Nicholas Curti Science Prize Selection Committee is chaired by Professor George Pickett of Lancaster University, Professor Rolf Haug of Hanover University, Professor Vladimir Dmitriev of the PL Kapitsa Institute in Moscow, Professor Dominik Zumbühl of the University of Basel and CEA Dr. Silviano de Francesi is included. -INAC.

Oxford Instruments recognizes that for many people, there are important and often difficult steps between completing a PhD and finding a permanent research position. The company therefore wishes to assist individuals who are creating innovative work by providing support through the promotion of financial and research activities. Named after Professor Nicholas Curti (1908-1998), known for his outstanding achievements in science.

Past recipients of the Nicholas Prize for Science include Rebeca Ribeiro-Palau, Center de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies (C2N), CNRS, Saclay, France, Landry Bretheau, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, Dr. Tino Gottschall, Dr. Tino Gottschall, Dresden High Magnetic Field. Lab.

Source: Oxford Instruments

Source link